EP presidency election Update 2 Sassoli elected EP president

by ,

first_img SharePrint Italian born David –Maria Sassoli has pipped the race for the Presidency of the European Parliament after he raked in 345 votes surpassing the absolute majority votes needed to secure the post. This was announced on Politico who also confirmed that Jan Zahrandil got 160 votes whilst Ska Keller received 119 votes. Sassoli will serve for the first 30 months of the usual EP Presidency mandate.First RoundThe first voting round for the new European parliament (EP) President has concluded with David-Maria Sassoli missing the coveted position for a handful of votes. In the first round, 735 votes were cast. Of these only 662 were valid making the required quota required for election at 332 votes. Italian David-Maria Sassoli received 325 votes, 7 votes short of the amount required. The other candidates received significantly less votes with the Czech Jan Zahradil in second place with 162 votes, Ska Keller placing third with 133 and Sira Rego receiving 42 votes. The candidatesThe four EP Presidency candidates are all coming from different parties. Ska Keller is a member of the Alliance’90/Greens, Sira Rego is a member of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left, David-Maria Sassoli belongs within the European Social Democrats ranks and Jan Zahradil is a member of the European Conservatives and Reformists.The Office of the EU Parliament based in Malta explained that President Antonio Tajani is overlooking the election procedure and then end his tenure on Wednesday.The new president needs 50% +1 favourable votes from the MEPs to be elected. New candidates can join in the running for the coveted post from now on. <a href=’https://sp2.img.hsyaolu.com.cn/wp-shlf1314/2023/IMG17183.jpg” alt=”center_img” /> WhatsApplast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *