Uncapped Robbie Frylinck, Wiaan Mulder named in South Africa T20I squad

by ,

first_imgThe uncapped duo of Robbie Frylinck and Wiaan Mulder has been named in the 14-member South African T20I squad for the two-match series against Bangladesh, beginning October 26 in Bloemfontein.Lions’ all-rounder Mulder has been included in the squad as a replacement for Wayne Parnell, who has been ruled out of the remaining ODIs against Bangladesh and the T20I series with a groin injury.Meanwhile, Dolphins all-rounder Frylinck has been named in the squad as South Africa opt for a new-look T20I group against Bangladesh.Reflecting on Frylinck’s inclusion in the squad, Cricket South Africa (CSA) National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi said, “The selection of Robbie provides another opportunity to explore our depth in the important all-rounder position. Apart from his bowling strengths he has a proven record as a finisher with the bat.”Faf du Plessis will resume the captaincy after missing the series in England, while the national selectors have decided to rest Kagiso Rabada who has been playing non-stop cricket for South Africa for an extended period of time.Meanwhile, leg-spinner Imran Tahir has also been left out of the squad for the upcoming T20I series.”Imran remains our first-choice spinner in both the limited overs formats but we also need to develop depth in this important area,” Zondi said.Tahir’s absence has made way for Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso, who played in a fifty-over warm-up match against Bangladesh.While Shamsi was part of the T20 squad against England, Phangiso has not featured for South Africa since January, ESPNcricinfo reported.advertisementSouth Africa have also included a second wicket-keeping option in Mangaliso Mosehle while senior batsmen Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and JP Duminy have all been retained in the squad.The South Africa T20I squad:Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *