Muslim dominated areas Ballimaran tops list with 68 per cent turnout

by ,

first_imgNEW DELHI: In Delhi the poll day witnessed higher voter turnout at the Muslim dominated areas. In this list Ballimaran legislative constituency witnessed the highest voter turnout of more than 68 per cent and this area of Chandni Chowk constituency is also a Muslim dominated area.In the Chandni Chowk constituency areas like Chandni Chowk, Matia Mahal also witnessed high voter turnout and these are the places which are Muslim dominated. Matia Mahal witnessed 66.94 per cent turnout of voters whereas Chandni Chowk had the voter turnout around 60 per cent. Also Read – Odd-Even: CM seeks transport dept’s views on exemption to women, two wheelers, CNG vehiclesOn the other hand in the North East Delhi, Muslim majority areas like Seemapuri witnessed 67 per cent voter turnout, followed by Mustafabad with 65 per cent turnout. Silampur also witnessed 65 per cent voter turnout. In East Delhi, Trilokpuri which is also Muslim and caste minority dominated area witnessed nearly 65 per cent voter turnout which is the highest among the other areas of East Delhi. However, Okhla legislative assembly which is one of the most Muslim dominated areas in Delhi witnessed the lowest voter turnout and it was nearly 54 per cent. Also Read – More good air days in Delhi due to Centre’s steps: JavadekarAccording to reports Muslim voters largely seemed to be favouring the Congress in Delhi. The AAP had tried hard to forge a poll alliance with the Congress, driven by the fear that the anti-BJP votes might shift to that party. Of the 1.36 crore voters across seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital, 13 percent are Muslims. In constituencies such as Chandni Chowk, Muslim voters comprise 20 per cent of the total electorate. A large section of the community had shifted their allegiance from the Congress to Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), a move that helped the fledgling outfit trounce the Congress and BJP to emerge victorious in 67 of the 70 seats in the 2015 assembly election.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *